Dosia McKay

The Lament - a Fugue

for Piano Solo

The Lament, a fugue in 4 voices, was composed to satisfy the final requirement of a counterpoint course in my undergraduate studies. Inspired by Johann Sebastian Bach's Das Wohltemperierte Klavier in style and form, the Lament explores varying degrees of chromaticism. Of interest might also be the orchestrated version of the fugue and the accompanying prelude The Jubilance.

Composed: 2008
Total duration: 2'45"

Difficulty level: Intermediate

Published by Gavia Music (ASCAP)
Laser printed, professionally bound
8.5 X 11


PDF file
8.5 X 11


All web content, images, scores, and music files © Dosia McKay.