Dosia McKay


Score Catalog

Listen: Concert/Classical
Listen: Electroacoustic
Listen: Film

Watch: Composer's Work
Watch: Concert Music
Watch: Film Soundtracks

Commission New Music
License Existing Music
Two Moods

for Soprano Saxophone and Piano

Originally composed for clarinetist Jeffrey St. John Sherwood in 2008, Two Moods depict two opposite states of mind. The first movement, Haunted, illustrates an eerie, suspenseful feeling, intertwined with passages of sheer panic and terror. Here the composer recalls and confronts her childhood fear of being left alone in the dark. The second movement, Wind Chimes, portrays a feeling of freedom, release, and beauty inspired by the gentle, pentatonic scale rattle of wind chimes outside of her writing studio. Here she also pays homage to composer Aaron Copland with her soft and colorful harmonic palette.

Composed: 2008
Total duration: 8' 00"

1. Haunted
2. Wind Chimes

Difficulty level: Advanced

Published by Gavia Music (ASCAP)
Laser printed, professionally bound
8.5 X 11 score and parts, 21 pages


Past performances:

  • Steve Loew, clarinet, and Daniel Weiser, piano, in Asheville Music School, Asheville, North Carolina, December 2, 2012

  • Steve Loew, clarinet, and Daniel Weiser, piano, in a house concert in Arden, North Carolina, November 30, 2012

  • Steve Loew, clarinet, and Daniel Weiser, piano, on WCQS, Public Radio Station, Asheville, North Carolina, November 30, 2012

  • Jeffrey St. John Sherwood, clarinet, and Melony Dodson, piano, at the University of Tennessee, March 29, 2009 (premiere)

  • All web content, images, scores, and music files © Dosia McKay.